RSS Feed

Poet Laureate of Smith’s Tavern

.

I am pleased to announce that I was awarded first place in the “Smith’s Tavern Poet Laureate” contest on Sunday, April 22nd, in Voorheesville, New York. I was one of eleven competitors, each of whom read aloud three poems.  Thanks to the four judges, the scorekeeper, the audience, the Smith Tavern staff and owners, and the contest organizers. Thanks also to my local critique buddies whose input had improved my contest poems.

.

.

About ThereseLBroderick

Independent community poet living in Albany, New York USA.

2 responses »

  1. Dear Therese:
    God bless the tavern for choosing you. Now I’m curious about the 3 poems.
    Would you ever consider posting them for us to hear as Amy did?
    http://www.poemfarm.amylv.com/2012/04/my-dictionary-z.html
    Jeanne Poland

    Like

  2. Jeanne, yes, thank you for your suggestion. I will post the three poems that I read aloud at the contest. All along, I have been posting drafts of my poems on Facebook. Feel free to read them there.

    I’ve been an atheist for decades, so I never thank god or supernatural beings for the many blessings in my life. Instead, I prefer to thank human beings or natural processes. But thank YOU for expressing a kind sentiment in your comment here on my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

