RSS Feed

“Hospice”

BLOG ENTRY BEGINS NOW.

In a few days, I will visit an older poet who is dying. This poem stands vigil with other words and syllables waiting inside the word “hospice”: hope, pose, choices, hospi(tal), sci(ence), I, see. I thank DL for introducing me to anagram poetry. I thank AW for his beautiful life and words.

POEM TITLE BEGINS NOW.

HOSPICE

POEM TEXT BEGINS NOW.

A word for both “guest” and “host,” the hope

for a shared etiquette at the end, that kind pose

I will practice in my vigil with the choices

of a poet almost silenced. In what hospi-

tal of sonnets will he be solaced? In what sci-

ence of love will he keep his faith? Invited, I

follow three graces of Protocol. Attend. Listen. See.

POEM TEXT ENDS NOW.

SPACE.

by Therese L. Broderick

SPACE.

END OF BLOG ENTRY.

About ThereseLBroderick

Independent community poet living in Albany, New York USA.

2 responses »

  1. Such a tender poem, Therese, and interesting with its use of anagram. I hope your friend is comfortable.

  2. I have been enlightened by your definition of hospice.

Leave a Reply

