RSS Feed

“Euphoria”

This sonnet-like poem is dedicated to my daughter, with whom I went to Paris in spring 2009. My first trip to Paris was on honeymoon; my second trip was with my MFA program.

THE POEM STARTS NOW

EUPHORIA

That first time in Paris, I was deep in love

with my new husband. On a second stay, I adored

the poets who taught me Beaudelaire.

Now here for another visit, one spring week,

I come to arrange some daily trysts

between this dashing city and ma fille jolie

charming and clever, not quite seventeen.

STANZA BREAK

Walking beside her along the courtyards

of the Louvre, on bridges across the Seine,

around the Rodin busts within the d’Orsay,

or standing on the Eiffel Tower with a birds

eye view of all her prospects, I feel elated.

STANZA BREAK

May she be lifted by Romance, Myth, & Destiny

into that daring woman she yearns to be.

THE POEM ENDS  NOW

by Therese L. Broderick

THE BOG ENTRY ENDS NOW

.

About ThereseLBroderick

Independent community poet living in Albany, New York USA.

3 responses »

  1. A lovely poem, Therese. We always want for someone to feel the same way about a place as we do ourselves. And what’s not to love about Paris?! I can appreciate your daughter’s excitement at all the discoveries and yours at experiencing them anew through her.

  2. This is so beautiful, I love that you “arranged daily trysts’ with the city for your daughter and that the first time you visited you were deeply in love and the second time a poet. How perfectly fitting. I recall you were quite a good French student, non?

  3. This is so beautiful. It is so perfectly fitting that you visited Paris first in love, second as a poet and thirdly as a parent “arranging trysts” with the city for your daughter….what a clever way of putting it. I remember you were quite an accomplished French student, non?

Leave a Reply

