RSS Feed

#28-30 NaPoWriMo

.

APRIL 30 — Here are my 29th and 30th poems for National Poetry Writing Month (one of them written late), concluding my poem-a-day marathon for ReadWritePoem.

.

LOCAL BIRDS #1

I hear the dolce dandelions

gild my grass

only after

two goldfinches

trill overhead.

.

.

LOCAL BIRDS #2

Captain Blue Jay

sloops on the wind

to branches tall and slender,

masts

with green sails.

.

.

APRIL 29 — Here’s my twenty-eighth poem (I missed yesterday, but hope to make it up tomorrow) for National Poetry Writing Month. This villanelle is not following today’s prompt on ReadWritePoem. After first posting this poem, I may revise it in the hours, days, and weeks still to come. This poem is based on the bad colds my husband and I are weathering. Thanks to RL for feedback critique.

.

IT’S GOING AROUND
.
I might wake him with my sneezing
even after taking some pills,
or he might wake me with his coughing.
.
Tonight we will separate, me sleeping
in the guest room with a single pillow.
I might wake him with my sneezing
.
so each one of us will be setting
an alarm clock for the morning; still,
he might wake me with his coughing
.
even before the birds do, chirping
love songs, boasts of beak or bill.
I might wake him with my sneezing
..
and sometime all too soon, I’ll be exhaling
the last of life — breath, my vital will.
He won’t wake me, then, by choking
.
back his tears. For now, I keep dreaming
that we’ll be aging side-by-side, at least until
he grows too deaf to hear my sneezing,
I grow too deaf to hear his coughing.
.
.
by Therese L. Broderick
.
.
.
.

About ThereseLBroderick

Independent community poet living in Albany, New York USA.

7 responses »

  1. Therese ~ this is so sweet and memorable. The final lines are among the sweetest and let us wonder about finality, which you spare us from. Well written.
    JDM

    Like

  2. awwwww sweet poem Therese…cough cough….seriously…..this is wonderful…thanks for sharing this

    Like

  3. At least you have each other to comfort each other.The close relationship you have is the only thing worth having.
    As this is the last day of RWP I would like to thank you for your contribution to the site. Your poetry information was very helpful and interesting
    Cheers
    Rall

    Like

  4. I sympathise! Right now it is 4 a.m. and I have got up to prevent my coughing from disturbing my partner. Fortunately, my splutterings are not reciprocated. This seems the ideal form for our ailment!

    Like

  5. Therese–Beautiful poems. It’s Going Around was…wow! Very powerful…sort of sad. I do relate to the waking each other issues! Loved your bird poems, esp. #2.

    I think I’ll see you on OSI, right?

    Like

  6. lovely therese…thanks again…see you on the other side somewhere

    Like

  7. Blue Jays are like captains aren’t they! What a great image! I enjoyed the sneezing, coughing poem, too. It’s really quite a beautiful love poem. All 3 are wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

