RSS Feed

#24 NaPoWriMo

.

APRIL 24 — Here is my poem #24 for National Poetry Writing Month. This poem departs from today’s prompt on ReadWritePoem. 

.

DECLINE  AND  FALL

.

This morning I mowed the lawn, sliced dandelion heads
golden as an archipelago sunset
while the Greek realm fell.
 
For lunch I rinsed handfuls of grapes,
ate them with a glass of sparkling water
while cities like Athens fell even farther.
 
Later I re-read “The War Horse” by Eavan Boland,
admired its couplets, its heroic rhymes
while Greece the nation fell into decline.
 
Tonight my daughter got dressed for the prom,
a temple goddess, hair coiled and loose,
while Hellas came close, closer, to ruin.
 
Before logging out I do one last image search
for the Great Wall of clusters and superclusters,
for Orion, for the Cygnus constellation.
Still, ceaselessly, civilization falls.
.
.
by Therese L. Broderick
.
.
.

About ThereseLBroderick

Independent community poet living in Albany, New York USA.

6 responses »

  1. Oh Therese this is so good. Tell me did your daughter really go to the prom tonight?
    Pamela

  2. very nice Rall…slicing dandelion heads…what my partner has been doing for past few weeks…soooooooo good in salads indeed

  3. Loved, loved, loved this poem. Wondering… if you’d consider creating a broadside with this, poem graced by two images, one Greek and the other a prom night photo. Memorable, vivid, and so well done!

  4. I really like this one. I’m just wondering why you went with “Grecian nation” in line three. Why not simply “Greece”?

  5. OK, this may be cheating, Therese, but I like it! I notice you’ve made changes from the text that appeared in my email advice and they really work. The last line says it all, our Greek colleagues are not happy people.

  6. I liked this one that speaks of your beautiful daughter’s readying for the prom and her Mom’s thoughts of the day!

Leave a Reply

