RSS Feed

#23 NaPoWriMo

.

APRIL 23 — Here’s my poem #23 for National Poetry Writing Month, composed in response to a prompt on ReadWritePoem: couple the poem with an unlikely voice or occasion.

.

PLATES OF GLASS

~Song of a Stretch Limo Driver (with apologies to Walt Whitman)

I drive anyone anywhere
I drive businessmen, mothers & wives, teenagers in love, the regular guy
I drive the family, the office workers, the wedding party, the swim team
I drive them to the party, conference, church, airport, college or sports arena
I drive them to the independent bookstore
I drive on roads or highways, trails or byways, freeways or thruways
I drive in good weather or bad, in storms and heat waves and droughts
I drive to the left, or to the right, or around around the rotary
I drive on time, night or day, weekends and holidays
I drive with the music off or on as the listener prefers, and whatever volume
I drive AM or FM, tweet or txt or IM
I drive throughout New York, California, North Dakota, Louisiana
I drive across bridges, covered or suspension, Brooklyn or San Francisco
I drive with credentials, licenses, permits, and insurance
I drive with ten or fourteen windows, with heat or air conditioning
I drive with my hat and gloves on, a tip of the hat, a shake of the hand
I drive with a supply of ice cubes
I drive on ferries passing across the waters
I drive where no poet has ever gone before
.
.
by Therese L. Broderick
.
.
.

About ThereseLBroderick

Independent community poet living in Albany, New York USA.

3 responses »

  1. Therese,
    Love the last line. Nicely done.
    Pamela

  2. well driven Therese….nicely done

  3. Not sure, but something about that bridges line sings to me.

Leave a Reply

