RSS Feed

“Poetry Spam”

..
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,..,,…..POETRY SPAM
.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,some poems are meaty
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,.,,,,some poets are mealy
.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,some poems are mash-ups
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,some poets are mess-ups
.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,some poems are metaphysical
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,some poets are miserable
.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,some poems are mystical
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,some poets are mystifying
.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,some poems are metered
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,some poets are muddled
.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,“some poems” are mine
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,“some poets” are me
.
.
.
.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,by Therese L. Broderick
.
.
.
.
Writer’s Statement — This poem was composed partly in response to prompt #96 on ReadWritePoem: write a poem using words from cyberspace spam. This poem departs from the prompt by riffing on the four letters s,p,a,m. This playful piece is light verse, not meant to be taken seriously.
.
.

About ThereseLBroderick

Independent community poet living in Albany, New York USA.

14 responses »

  1. Gettin’ your Silly on in verse is a wonderful gift. And just because it is loaded with wry observations and is written in a whimsical fashion, does not mean that it shouldn’t be taken seriously.

    At its best, poetry speaks to the reader. This really spoke to me, AND as an added bonus, made me smile.

    That makes it worth its weight in gold, Therese. I quite liked this.

    Like

  2. Really enjoyed this. cleverly done.

    Like

  3. I too liked it. Somehow makes a lot of sense to me.

    exulting mixture

    Like

  4. Therese,

    Pretty witty in spite of your pejorative assessment. I read in it both a casual awareness of its own superficiality and at at the same time of the spammily glib and evangelizing pronouncements made in the service of speciating both poets and poems by the poets themselves, as well as the [at times] pompous spam of literary criticism. Sorry for that pompously prolix sentence, but you know what I mean…

    Like

  5. Some poems are masterful, like this one! Very well written, Therese. Thank you for your insightful message.=D

    Like

  6. Hi Therese,

    I wasn’t going to comment, like you said; but I enjoyed it!

    Like

  7. I like the way you differentiate between poet and poem. Definitely not the same thing. The poetic alchemy that allows the muddled to produce the metered is a wonderful thing indeed.

    Like

  8. Well darn, I thought you were writing about my poetry. Clever, witty, succinct….you may have meant it light, not serious, but when the hammer is swung, nine out of ten times one can hit the nail on the head. You drove this one home. This is one of those nine times. ;^>
    Regards,
    DH

    Like

  9. I thought it very clever and we laerned so much in so few lines…

    Like

  10. Intriguing…thanks for the read.

    Like

  11. Wordles often put me in a playful mood; that’s why I love them. I like playful poems too. Like this one, I think they sometimes reveal deeper truths than ones that take themselves too seriously. Thanks for making me laugh and think.

    Like

  12. love the twist at the end :)

    Like

  13. poems and poets….nicely done…and thanks for sharing…and reading my ramblings

    Like

  14. Hey, what’s wrong with having a little fun now and then? Interesting slant take on an acrostic…

    Like

Leave a Reply

